我们的团队

张勋华

创始人

该学院的创始人张勋华(Jack)是中国太乙拳和太乙炁针灸非物质文化遗产官方代表性传承人。他是第十三代太乙大师,有四十年的太乙疗愈和实践经验。他以现代技术和新的疗愈方法创新传统的太乙疗法,在国际上享有盛誉。作为纽约太乙学院的创始人,他积极促进太乙社区的发展,推动太乙医学的研究。

他爷爷的训练

勋华1960年出生在南京。6岁时随家人搬到了郑州,他的修行就是从那里开始的。他的祖父是一位有成就的中医,教给他十三代的知识。勋华是三个孩子中的老大,他被选中继承家传。

除了祖父的教育外,1966-1973年学校放假期间,他还在少林寺接受了额外的训练。1973年小学毕业后,他一直到初中及之后的几年里,一直跟着爷爷继续接受武术和医学教育。1980年,勋华成为北京吕炳奎中医药研究院的一名学员。

"作为实习生,后来又做了助理医生,我帮助进行了针灸、调骨、中药的研究。这些年我很有心得,当然,我还是继续协助我爷爷疗愈。我观察了他20多年,回想起来,我真正了解太乙的现实意义是在20多岁的时候。

小时候,每天的训练是家庭的义务,但随着时间的推移,我发现自己的身体和精神都变得很强壮。我的性格沉稳而有耐心,我知道自己可以度过任何难关。我的爷爷也许是个严格的人,但他用给我智慧来表达他的爱。"

如何进行变更工作

30多岁时,他开始在没有爷爷的情况下给病人看病,并投入工作,尽可能多地积累实践经验。他通过自学和研究,继续接受教育。他说,40多岁时,他才真正开始思考。勋华很想让人们了解太乙,传播知识。他开始积极宣传太乙文化,并与大学、学校、政府培养联系。

他曾在郑州养生会所担任健康顾问,在郑州市康复医学研究所担任博士和研究员,并在2007-2010年间在哈佛大学教授太乙拳。他还成立了自己的研究所--郑州市康健电子产品研究所,在那里做研究,开发医疗仪器,完成政府项目。

在他50岁那年,被中国政府评为非物质文化遗产太乙拳传承人和非物质文化遗产太乙炁针代表性传承人。他参加了由中国三所最好的大学举办的高层次人才专题研修课(继续教育),为期四年。

古代中国的教义在一个勇敢的新世界里。

2016年,勋华搬到了美国。先是洛杉矶,现在是纽约。他说,中国的年轻一代只对外国,尤其是美国的产品和概念感兴趣--即使它是基于他们自己的传统和文化。对他来说,这并不是一个障碍,因为他想让太乙不仅在中国或美国,而是在任何地方都有意义。

"我的教学风格和我爷爷的教学风格很不一样。我认为我们必须根据我们所处的快速变化的时代,用现代的方式来解释太乙。这一点在过去的两年里已经被证明是正确的。西方人对自然疗法的好奇心越来越强,90%以上的人在被介绍到太乙后,都会通过来疗愈、练习、调整生活方式来继续。"

有趣的是,杰克在美国遇到的很多渴望话语权的人,都是受过西医教育的专业人士和医生。打通现代医学和传统医学之间的鸿沟,对各方都有好处,人们也明白这个道理。"最终,我爷爷的梦想变成了我的梦想:让太乙为人所知。而随着纽约太乙学院的成立,这个梦想在国际上得以延续。"

作为一个话题

Now at age 58, Xunhua has held high-level positions at numerous medicine institutes and companies, and has been teaching at internationally-renowned institutions for over 20 years. He has been rewarded seven National Invention Patents and 29 other patents, and has published three academic theses. He changed Taiyi culture by combining Chinese holistic medicine with state-of-the-art technology. For the past decade alone, Xunhua was awarded multiple honorary titles and has been recognized by government entities in China and the US with the following honors:

2008: Certificate of Medals of Honor by Boston City Council
2011: Certificate of Medals of Honor by City of New York Council
2013: Recognition as top-notch talent and technical expert by the government of Zhengzhou, China
2016: Certificate of Congressional Recognition by Congresswoman Judy Chu for outstanding medical achievement
2016: Honorary Doctorate from the University of West Los Angeles
2016: Certificate of Medals of Honor by the City of Miami
2016: Certificate of Medals of Honor by the State of California
2017: Certificate of Medals of Honor by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Iga Michalowska

合伙人

Iga Michalowska是一位跨国企业家和商业顾问。她拥有国际商务学位和经济学硕士学位。她精通中文、英语和波兰语。Iga的专长是战略、业务发展、商业分析、财务规划和端到端管理解决方案。她的创业经验包括从初创企业规划到大型国际组织的变革管理。Iga于2017年3月在上海成立了自己的咨询公司Tusmi,提供中国、欧洲和美国之间的商业咨询服务。

把中国的知识带到西方

伊嘉在中国生活了近十年,学习亚洲文化,探索不同的平衡生活方式。她的主要兴趣之一成为中医,2017年移居纽约后,她继续接受教育。现在,随着她在太乙学院的工作,她将自己与世界融合在一起。

"作为一个欧洲人,先是生活在亚洲,然后又生活在美国,我了解到我们其实并没有什么不同。我们的观点可能不同,我们基于自己的文化以其他方式表达自己。但核心是我们都在努力追求一种充实、健康的生活。为了我们自己,为了我们的家庭,为了整个社会。

如果我们努力理解对方的观点,好处是成倍的。能够生活在不同的文化中,能够向各种人学习,我深有体会。现在,通过把中国的知识和文化带到西方,我想为我们如何对待健康和自我保健创造一个更大的画面。"

顶端

EN
中文

Our Team

Xunhua ‘Jack’ Zhang

Founder

The institute’s founder, Xunhua ‘Jack’ Zhang, is China’s official Representative Inheritor of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Taiyiquan and Taiyi Qi Acupuncture. He is a 13th generation Taiyi Master and has four decades of experience in treating and practicing Taiyi. He is internationally acclaimed for innovating traditional Taiyi therapy with modern techniques and new treatment methods. As the founder of the Taiyi Institute in New York he actively fosters the community around Taiyi and advances the research of Taiyi medicine.

His grandfather’s training

Xunhua was born in Nanjing, China in 1960. He moved to Zhengzhou with his family when he was 6 years old, and that is where his training began. His grandfather, an accomplished Chinese doctor, taught him the knowledge of thirteen generations. Xunhua was the oldest of three children and he was chosen to carry on the family legacy.

Besides his grandfather’s education, he received additional training at a Shaolin Temple during the school holidays from 1966-1973. After graduating from elementary school in 1973, he continued his martial arts and medicine education with his grandfather all the way through middle school and for a few years after. In 1980, Xunhua became a trainee at the LuBingKui Chinese Medicine Research Institute 吕炳奎中医药研究院 in Beijing, China.

“As a trainee and later as an assistant doctor I helped in research of acupuncture, bone adjustment, and herbal medicine. These years were very insightful, and, of course, I still continued to assist my grandfather with treatments. I observed him for over 20 years and looking back, I really only understood the relevance of Taiyi in my mid-twenties.

As a child, the daily training was a family obligation, but over time I realized how physically and mentally strong I had become. My personality was calm and patient and I knew I could get through anything. My grandfather might have been a strict man, but he expressed his love by giving me wisdom.”

How to work a change

In his 30s, he started treating patients without his grandfather and put in the work to get as much practical experience as possible. He continued his education by self-studying and conducting research. In his 40s, he says, he really started to think. Xunhua was eager to educate people about Taiyi and spread knowledge. He started to actively promote Taiyi culture, and fostered connections to universities, schools, and the government.

He worked as a health consultant at the Zhengzhou Health Clinic 养生会所, was a doctor and researcher at the Zhengzhou Institute of Recovery Medicine 郑州市康复医学研究, and taught Taiyiquan at Harvard University between 2007-2010. He also founded his own institute, the Zhengzhou Health Electronic Product Research Institute 郑州市康健电子产品研究所, where he did research, developed medical instruments, and completed government projects.

When he turned 50, the Chinese government recognized his contribution to Traditional Chinese Medicine by officially appointing him as the Representative Inheritor of Intangible Cultural Heritage of China Taiyi Quan and Intangible Cultural Heritage of China Taiyi Qi Acupuncture. With the honor of this title he joined a high-level talents continuing education program 高层次人才专题研修课(继续教育) for four years, offered by three of China’s best universities.

Ancient Chinese teachings in a brave new world

In 2016, Xunhua moved to the US. First Los Angeles and now New York. He says the young generation in China is only intrigued by foreign, especially American, products and concepts - even if it is based on their own traditions and culture. For him this is not a hurdle because he wants to make Taiyi not only relevant in China or America, but everywhere. So one way or another Taiyi will find its way back to China’s new generation.

“My teaching style is very different to my grandfather’s. I believe we have to explain Taiyi in a modern way, according to the fast-changing times we live in. This has been proven true in the past two years. People in the west are more and more curious about natural healing and more than 90% of people who are introduced to Taiyi continue by coming for treatments, practicing the exercises, and adjusting their lifestyle.”

Interestingly enough, many of the people Jack meets who are longing for discourse in the US are western-educated medicine professionals and doctors. Bridging the gap between modern and traditional medicine is beneficial for all sides, and people understand this. “Ultimately, my grandfather’s dream became my dream: to make Taiyi known. And with the opening of the Taiyi Institute in New York this dream continues internationally.”

Being a topic of conversation

Now at age 58, Xunhua has held high-level positions at numerous medicine institutes and companies, and has been teaching at internationally-renowned institutions for over 20 years. He has been rewarded seven National Invention Patents and 29 other patents, and has published three academic theses. He changed Taiyi culture by combining Chinese holistic medicine with state-of-the-art technology. For the past decade alone, Xunhua was awarded multiple honorary titles and has been recognized by government entities in China and the US with the following honors:2008: Certificate of Medals of Honor by Boston City Council

2011: Certificate of Medals of Honor by City of New York Council
2013: Recognition as top-notch talent and technical expert by the government of Zhengzhou, China
2016: Certificate of Congressional Recognition by Congresswoman Judy Chu for outstanding medical achievement
2016: Honorary Doctorate from the University of West Los Angeles
2016: Certificate of Medals of Honor by the City of Miami
2016: Certificate of Medals of Honor by the State of California
2017: Certificate of Medals of Honor by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Iga Michalowska

Partner

Iga Michalowska is a multinational entrepreneur and business consultant. She holds a degree in international business and a master in economics. She is proficient in Chinese, English, and Polish. Iga’s expertise is in strategy, business development, business analytics, financial planning, and end-to-end management solutions. Her entrepreneurial experience ranges from start-up business planning to change management for large international organizations. Iga founded her own consulting company Tusmi in Shanghai in March 2017, offering business consulting services between China, Europe, and the US.

Bringing Chinese knowledge to the West

Iga lived nearly a decade in China, learning about Asian culture and exploring diverse approaches to living a balanced life. One of her main interests became Chinese Medicine, and she continued her education when she moved to New York in 2017. Now with her work at the Taiyi Institute, she brings her worlds together.

“Being a European living first in Asia and then in America, I learned that we are actually not that different. Our viewpoint may differ and we express ourselves based on our culture in other ways. But at the core we all strive for a fulfilled, healthy life. For ourselves, for our family and for society overall.

If we make the effort to understand each other’s perspective, the benefits are exponential. I have a deep appreciation for being able to live in various cultures and to learn from all kinds of people. Now, by bringing Chinese knowledge and culture to the West, I want to create a bigger picture of how we approach health and self-care."

top

EN
中文